Veg in Cow Country

cooking (and eating) vegan and vegetarian in the midwest

Deep Dark Chocolate Walnut Cookies August 6, 2011

Filed under: Baked Goods,Chocolate! — vegincowcountry @ 9:13 am

When I experimented with these, adding cocoa powder and walnuts to a favorite recipe, and removing other ingredients, I took a photo for Facebook. A co-worker commented that she knew these were on their way into the office… Oops! No… I kept them for myself. I made some to share the next week, and they were a hit. The key to these is the Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa Powder, which I have found only at Wal-Mart.

 

1 c softened vegan margarine

1 c brown sugar

1/4 c milk of your choice (I prefer almond)

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 c Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder

2 1/4 c flour (I use white whole wheat)

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 c walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Combine sugar, margarine, milk and vanilla. In separate bowl, combine cocoa powder, flour, salt and baking soda. Slowly add dry mixture to sugar/margarine mixture. Stir in walnuts. Drop in spoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes.

 

Comment!

