Veg in Cow Country

cooking (and eating) vegan and vegetarian in the midwest

Homemade Waffles August 11, 2011

Filed under: Baked Goods,Comfort Food — vegincowcountry @ 8:19 pm

I prefer stainless steel cookware, and avoid non-stick like the plague. I have pet birds at home, and non-stick cookware, when overheated, emits toxic fumes that kill birds. Then I thought: if it’s not good for the birds, it’s probably not good for the humans, either… canary in the coal mine, anyone??? So when I went to buy a waffle iron without Teflon, I had to go “vintage,” which is ebay-speak for OLD! But it works, the cord looks to be in good shape (I watch it closely anyway and unplug as soon as I’m done with it) and the plates are removable for washing, and reversible to be used as a griddle instead of a waffle iron. Pretty neat!

Be sure to make these waffles with baking POWDER, not baking SODA, as I did once. Boy, that’s a lesson I won’t ever forget!!!

1 cup flour – I prefer white whole wheat flour

2 Tablespoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk of your choice

1/2 cup apple sauce

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Mix batter; heat waffle iron and if not non-stick, spray with non-stick spray. Make waffles as you usually do.

 

3 Responses to “Homemade Waffles”

  1. Donna Says:

    It’s 11:30pm and I could go for two of these about now LOl They look yummy!

  2. vegincowcountry Says:

    Jess – absolutely, who needs to eat Teflon?? 🙂

  3. Yay for retro! And really, I’d rather have removable plates that I wash myself over Teflon any day of the week! Awesome find.


Comment!

