Veg in Cow Country

cooking (and eating) vegan and vegetarian in the midwest

German Casserole September 6, 2011

Filed under: Casseroles,Comfort Food — vegincowcountry @ 1:28 pm

This is a slight variation on a recipe created by my friend Judy, who is one of the moderators on Yahoo’s Veg_Group. Judy is a great cook, as are many of the members, and they are all extremely helpful to the development of a new vegetarian cook!

There are other brands of sauerkraut out there — but Frank’s (aside from coming in a very pretty green can) is my dad’s favorite. The only items in his recycle bin, once upon a time, were beer cans and Frank’s Kraut cans! (To be fair, you couldn’t really recycle anything but cans and newspapers then). I’m not sure if my dad still buys Frank’s Kraut, but I’m going to have to make this casserole for him, he’ll love it. I’ll have to make sure and get him some beer to go with it — Heineken, I think, would suit this dish best. 🙂

The German farmers who were my ancestors (on both sides of the family) wouldn’t approve of the idea of vegetarian sausage, but I bet they wouldn’t notice a difference in taste! Judy uses Morningstar Farms sausage, which is good stuff, but I saw (vegan) Field Roast Smoked Apple Sage sausage at Whole Foods and couldn’t resist it. Good choice! 7 ounces is two sausage links, half of the package.

Not real pretty, but it sure tastes good! The biggest change I made to Judy’s recipe was to add Thousand Island dressing – it goes well on a Reuben sandwich, so why not? I make my own: 1 cup Vegenaise, 1/2 cup ketchup, 2 Tablespoons mustard, and 2 Tablespoons sweet pickle relish.

 

 

The Recipe:

1 large raw potato, halved and sliced into 1/4 inch slices
14 ounces (1 can) sauerkraut, drained and rinsed
7 oz of your favorite veggie sausage, sliced on a slant or crumbled
1 ¼ cup Thousand Island dressing

Preparation of German Casserole:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
In a large casserole dish with a lid, layer the ingredients in this order – potatoes, sauerkraut, Veggie sausage, Thousand Island dressing.
You can halve everything and make two “stacks” of layers as well, if you prefer. Make sure you end with veggie sausage and Thousand Island dressing on top.
Cover with foil. Bake until the potatoes are tender – about an hour and fifteen minutes. Remove from the oven and serve.

 

2 Responses to “German Casserole”

  1. vegincowcountry Says:

    Thank YOU, Judy, for the wonderful idea! I’m loving my leftovers… 🙂

  2. Judy Says:

    Thanks Audrey. I love your idea with the Thousand Island Dressing and the picture. Judy


Comment!

